In the beginning…

18 Jan

I know it may seem weird, but I want to write my first post on the Monica Lewinsky scandal of the 90’s.

I have recently viewed her interviews with Larry King, Barbara Walters and HBO’s documentary “Black and White”. I hadn’t really thought about Monica or Bill (Clinton) since the 90’s. At the time of the scandal, I didn’t do any research into the issue on either side. I remember forming the opinion that Monica’s and Bill’s relationship is a private matter and should have never made it to public light. That was about it.

After viewing the three interviews from those times, I have more to say on the scandal. First and foremost, I believe Monica was used first by her married boyfriend in Oregon and then by Bill. Both of these men took advantage of a very vunerable young woman. Monica had a lot of self worth and self esteem issues because of her weight issue and she was easy prey for these two men. Later in the scandal, the boyfriend standing with his wife basically put Monica down and laid all of the blame on her. In a similar move, Bill repeated the boyfriend’s behavior, of course on a very large stage.

Second, even though Monica was used by these men, she still made the choices to be with them. Monica, herself said that she was very stubborn and was her own boss but I believe she could have been persuaded to end both of these relationships if her family and friends would have stepped in and helped her to see the error of her choices. Something Monica didn’t mention in the three interviews.

Third, I believe it was very wrong for Hillary (Bill’s wife) to stay married to Bill. At the time of the scandal and I believe before this particular scandal, Bill had been unfaithful on other occasions. However, as Hillary put it in one of her interviews, you have to be true to yourself. In her case, she had political aspirations and her husband was her ticket. If she had truly been true to herself, she would have divorced Bill and made her own way politically which I believe she would have done just fine.

5 Responses to “In the beginning…”

  1. Tammy January 18, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    Interesting topic, I agree. It has been so long since we have had to turn the tv on to only be forced to see the scandal. The comment that stood out to me in particular was that she felt that if someone had intervened she could have seen the error of her ways. Does that mean that in many cases we are at times inadequately capable to make good decisions for ourselves? Does it always benefit to discuss our choices with those close to us? In my case, I have come to rely on the help of my sisters to keep me focused on a bigger picture.

  2. lifechangecounseling January 19, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    Thanks Tammy for your feedback to my very first post. I just want to clear up something you said. If you read my post again you will see that I wrote “I believe…if Monica friends and family would have intervened.”

  3. Jacob January 19, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    – Interesting topic. While Monica was having an affair with Bill Clinton. Did she even tell any of her friends or family about it ? It’s been a long time, but I believe she kept it to herself and only spoke in ” code words” to friends that she was ” dating ” a ” powerful” man. In Washington, that could have been anyone.
    – All three used each other in the end. Bill used his power over Monica for sexual pleasure. Hillary using Bill to advance her political career. And Monica to promote a book, failed talk show, her purse/baggage line,and paid speaking engagements. Sad.

  4. lifechangecounseling January 20, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    Hey Jacob, thanks for reading. Monica had 10 friends that she kept up to date during the affair as well her mother. They had every opportunity to intervene and they didn’t. I don’t believe Monica used Bill for financial gains. She was a very vulnerable young woman who was used. Any money she made from her book went to pay her lawyer to protect her from this whole mess which Bill created. Her reputation was ruined and she is not able to live and work as any other average person does.

    • Jacob February 1, 2012 at 3:21 am #

      Well said! Your off to a Great start with the blog. Hope this inspires you to blog more often. Ever thought about writing Op-Eds for your local paper? How about a political analyst? You were a dam good writer at College of DuPage. You have a great gift with words. Can’t wait for your next blog!….P.S….I hope you are running to burn off all those donut’s you have won…. : )

Leave a Reply

