Loyalty

8 Mar

Who or what are you loyal to?

I use the simple definition to describe loyalty: Being Faithful

Where do I begin? With myself I guess. I have always thought that I was a pretty loyal person until I started thinking about creating this post and now I realize I am not the shining example of loyalty. But…I expect nothing less than blind loyalty from anyone in my life. Wow!

In “romantic” relationships, I have failed miserably, come to think of it. I haven’t been faithful to any of the women I have been in a relationship with. Now, don’t get the wrong idea. I haven’t “cheated” on every one of them but I just was unable to be loyal entirely. I chose others over them, activities instead of them, etc…Interestingly, even though I haven’t been loyal to them, they have been loyal to me (that I know of) Wow!

In the “work” field, I always start out being loyal to my employer but then…something changes…I uncover truths about them…that weaken my faithfulness. Actually, that is how I set the bar for how loyal I will be. If you or that doesn’t have too much ugliness, I will stick by you and it. In one example though, even though I experienced a lot of unpleasantness, I stayed loyal because the pay was so good. Everybody has their price, right?

In “friend” ships, I have a half-ass record of being loyal. The wonderful world of Zuckerberg has allowed me to stay at least on the outer rim of my friendships. I have stayed in contact with friends as far back as early-grade school. But in reality, I am not too proud of my effort in friendships either. I think part of the problem lies in the fact that I moved so much in my life. Did you know that about 50% of the folks in this country never leave their hometown. Amazing! Talk about loyalty.

In the world of “family”, I have been very loyal despite a lot of ups and downs. I can honestly say that I am on good terms with just about every one of family members. I have been especially loyal to my mother.

In the non-people category, I have been faithful to Coca Cola, The Young and the Restless (stop laughing), my wonderful cat, Minnesota Twins (sorry Vikings), my 12-step program, exercising, pizza (especially Green Mill and John’s), the outdoors, Def Leppard, Bruce Willis; you get the idea.

So what does all this mean? It means that I need to do a better job of being loyal to others since I expect absolute loyalty from them.

Author’s note: I really tried to find a piece of clip art to add to this post but I couldn’t figure out how to add it. Any help?

2 Responses to “Loyalty”

  1. Norma March 9, 2012 at 4:40 am #

    Another thought provoking and insightful article that I enjoyed!!!!MIssed hearing from you today—hope you had a productive and happy day my dear son–Love you

Leave a Reply

