Letter to the Editor

10 Mar

I submitted this letter to the editor yesterday to be hopefully published by our local newspaper.

 

Where do I start this letter to the editor? I have so many thoughts and feelings running through me on this issue that I am now going to write about. The first feeling that comes to mind is shock, followed closely by disappointment. I was shocked very recently when an elected official stood up in church and “bashed” gay people. He did this in front of my two children. I was shocked. Believe me, I have been a Christian since birth (in my mid-40s’ now) and have read and studied the Bible, God’s holy word for most of that time. I clearly understand that the Bible describes homosexuality as a sin. I got that. But I also understand from the Bible that God wants us to love our neighbor as ourselves. God also sent his only son, Jesus to this earth to die for our sins so that we may have eternal life with him in heaven.

No where in the Bible, that I can find does it read, “you can only commit this many sins before you can enter heaven.” I am sorry to report to those who believe homosexuality is unnatural, you are very wrong. The American Academy of Pediatrics (2004) stated, “sexual orientation probably is not determined by one factor but by a combination of genetic, hormonal and environmental factors.”

I am disappointed on two fronts: 1) that people who believe they are Christians would have this type of intolerance for a group of people that are different than they are and 2) that the elected official in question who “bashed” gay people, represents our children in this city. How can someone honestly serve in that position that has intolerance for gay children? In my humble opinion, he can’t and shouldn’t be serving in that capacity. Whose side would he take in a bullying incident? The bully (a heterosexual) and the victim ( a homosexual)? I think we both know the answer to that one. I ask that you get on board with me and stop the “bashing” of people who aren’t exactly like us. We are on this world together, according to God’s plan to love one another.

Leave a Reply

