Close Call

11 Mar

The other day a close friend came over. She wasn’t feeling too good physically, so I tried to make her more comfortable. Well, she got so comfy that she fell asleep on my couch so I went for my daily walk thinking she would be just fine.

After a wondrous walk and all of its beauty, thanks to our Heavenly Father I returned to my place to find her trying to “slip” out. I inquired, weren’t you are going to say “bye”. She didn’t say anything and went back inside. She didn’t seem like her usual self but I just thought she still wasn’t feeling well physically.

We sat back down on the couch and she softly said, “I don’t want to live anymore.” I was shocked. I have known my friend for 15 years now and didn’t expect her to say this. She had always been the “life of life”. She has a magnetic personality and a bubbling spirit. I was definitely caught off guard but from personal and professional experience, I take all “life ending chatter” very seriously.

When I asked her why she wanted to die, she didn’t answer. She just stared off. I repeated the question and she replied, “what is the point?” I quickly responded by saying that you have three grandchildren and three children who would be very hurt if you died. She thought for a moment and then replied, “they would be better off without me.” Then I asked her to look at her kids and grandkids’ pictures on her phone. It brought up some memories for her and shared them with me.

She then said that she wanted to leave (my place). I said not so fast, please give me your keys which she did reluctantly. I informed her that I was going to get her some help because I wasn’t going to let her die. She didn’t fight me and I got her to the ER. Update: she is in a safe place now, getting the needed assistance.

Author’s note: Please stay in touch with those you love. I mean really in touch. No one knew that my friend was thinking or feeling like she wanted to die. However, there are signs to look for: isolating, avoiding social contact, sadness, putting up a good front, using substances, etc..Please do what you can to stay in touch with those you love because if you don’t you might lose them forever.

One Response to “Close Call”

  1. Norma March 11, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    I am so thankful that you were there for her!!!I have always known that people need people,and to keep in touch in some way–however those we care about are not always receptive to our contact so it is hard. At those times,I pray really hard for their happiness and peace.

Leave a Reply

