Shame on you Saints!

24 Mar

I have been a sports guy for as long as I can remember. Sports guy meaning: I love (most) sports. When I was a young lad, I participated in all sports because I could. Now, I don’t participate so much anymore but I can still watch.

I even got to write about sports for my high school and college newspapers. I had the pleasure to interview athletes and coaches, nobody famous though (as of yet). I loved hearing what drove athletes to do their best and what motivated coaches to strive for wins. I could really relate because I was an athlete and even became a coach as well. In fact, when I coached abused and neglected boys back in the early 90’s, I was awarded the “Sportsmanship” honor for showing leadership in that area.

The 80’s were great for sports: Magic and Bird in the NBA, The Twins winning the World Series, Joe Montana and Jerry Rice. What else could a sports fan ask for? Then the 90’s came which brought the Fab Five in the NCAA and of course, the greatest athlete made his presence known by winning six NBA championships. I’m sorry to MJ’s teammates, but the Jordan Factor led to those championships, not Rodman or Luc Longley. It was all Jordan.

I really lost my excitement for sports in the 00’s. I got tired of hearing about huge contracts and huge endorsements for what? Because a guy is good at a sport. Where are the huge contracts and huge endorsements for the guys and gals who are good at their jobs? I’m talking besides the Gates and Jobs of the world.

In the last few years, I might catch the last quarter of a good NFL game or the last minutes of a NCAA game (football or basketball) but that is about it. I can’t remember the last time I actually watched a full game of any sport. And by the way, I don’t count NASCAR or horse racing as a sport.

But now, I am really devastated by the latest sporting news. By the way, ESPN was a great invention. The New Orleans Saints have been caught putting bounties on opposing players’ heads. Unbelievable! What’s next? “Stand Your Ground” legislation to allow players to use guns on the playing field. And what’s more unbelievable, the Head Coach of the Saints (need to change their name to Sinners) was only suspended by the NFL for a year. Give me a break! Just kidding Saints. This guy should be banished from the NFL and the state of Louisiana!

And get this, the best part of this bounty game. The NFL doesn’t know how to discipline the Saints players who participated in these criminal activities. Give me another break! Ban all of them from the NFL. Thank you. The NFL needs to send a message to young athletes, play by the rules or don’t play at all.

 

2 Responses to “Shame on you Saints!”

  1. brand experience April 17, 2013 at 7:31 am #

    An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who had been conducting a little homework on this.
    And he actually ordered me breakfast simply because I stumbled upon it for him.
    .. lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for
    spending the time to talk about this subject here on your blog.

Leave a Reply

