Health Care Crimes

22 May

I finally got my bill from Ponca City Medical Center.  It only took them about six weeks to tabulate the total. The total which they will never see from me is $853 for treating a migraine headache. As I was barely coherent due to my severe migraine, the pleasant receptionist had told me that my cost for the visit would be $238 since I didn’t have health insurance.

This bill is part of what is wrong with this country. I was seen for less than five minutes by a health care professional that could order a morphine shot for my migraine and they want me to pay $853. That’s about what a CEO for a fortune 500 company makes per five minutes while the line workers (the real workers make chump change).

I applied for financial assistance to pay the $238 I was told I would need to pay and the financial assistance people want every scrap of my financial life as possible. Why do they know about every withdrawal and deposit I made for three months from my checking accounts? I only receive less than $950 per month from UE benefits and with my expenses like rent, food, utilities, gas to find another job, internet to find another job, a phone to find another job, etc…, my expenses outweigh my income. That is not even good part. The head financial assistant lady at the hospital scolded me for using the ER. Even she wouldn’t have used the ER with health insurance. I had to inform her (being nice) that my migraine needed assistance after 5 pm on a Saturday when the Urgent Care Clinics were closed.

Not only is the health care industry out of control with their costs to patients, now they are defrauding Medicare. Yea, if you didn’t catch it about three weeks ago there was a story about how about 100 health care professionals were arrested for defrauding Medicare for over 500 million bucks. Simply amazing. It is just never enough for some rich folks. Always have to have more and more.

While I am sharing this about one of the top 100 hospitals in the country (yes, PCMC), let me share with you how the ER treats suicidal patients. First, they keep them in a room for hours waiting for an Edwin Fair clinician to show up to do an assessment. By the way, make sure there are enough chairs in the room otherwise the Edwin Fair person will take the chair that you have been sitting on for over five hours. Since the suicidal patient doesn’t have health insurance, she has to be transported to a state institution somewhere close to the panhandle. Gotta keep those mentally unstable folks away from everyone else.

The ER staff told me that the cop would be there shortly to pick up my friend but instead what happened was the cop put my suicidal friend in a jail cell here in Ponca City for hours until she was finally transported to that state facility. Can you believe it? Is PC a third world city? We have to lock up our suicidal patients in jail? Of course, it took me about a week after this incident to finally talk to someone at PCMC about this incident. The ER director took down my concerns and assured me that she would pass them onto everyone in the hierarchy of the medical center and get back to me in two weeks. She never got back to me.

6 Responses to “Health Care Crimes”

  1. Norma May 23, 2012 at 3:41 am #

    I am so sorry about your bill,but you have all the facts right and it is a terrible injustice!!!!I have given up on getting adequate care in PC and will go to Stillwater from now on–too hard dealing with uneducated non professionals and non caring professionals!!!

  2. Sheena May 28, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    It’s unfortunate that patients are treated like criminals, but here in TN much of the mental health population are in jail, which is not the environment they need. The health care system is broken for sure, I don’t have insurance. It’s rough 😦

  3. The Yoga Experiment June 6, 2012 at 4:40 am #

    Wow, times like these it makes me feel ashamed that I ever complain about the Australian Health Care system. This is what happens when we commodify health huh? Terrifying!

Leave a Reply

