ATTITUDE OF GRATITUDE

29 Jul

Last night I had the pleasure to praise and worship with a Christian recording artist at the Upper Room in Ponca City. I brought my 9 1/2 year old daughter with me. Sadly, there were only a little more than a handful of others with us in the Upper Room.

While Y (what I call my daughter since I go by D) and I were waiting for the praise to start, a little boy about 11 approached us with a very disfigured face. He wanted to know our names and ages. commented to me how tough he must have it, with his disfigurement and she felt sad for him. I remarked that though the little boy may not look so good on the outside, he looked great on the inside.

I showed a picture of a little girl who had no arms but was drawing. I asked her to remember that little girl next time she was complaining about doing homework or housework. The little girl just wants us to TRY!

I am so glad that I didn’t stop trying to get a new job. I wanted to quit at times but God gave me the strength  and courage to motor on and he led me to the best job of my middle aged career. Recently, a friend of mine sent me some job postings with higher salaries than what I make at my current job. I was tempted at first, then realized, I am getting the perfect salary at the perfect place, why would I want to jeopardize that for  a few more bucks? No thanks. (Update: I lost this job on 10-5-12 to the woman who had been fired in my position because she won her case with the merit commission).

As you know, we live in very cynical times. Nobody seems to do anything right anymore. Poor customer service. Corrupt politicians who don’t represent the people. People not following Christ. You get my point.

Living with an ATTITUDE OF GRATITUDE changes most of that. You appreciate the little stuff like the guy yesterday who opened the door for me and Y. Or my hairdresser who actually listened to what I had to say while she gave me the perfect haircut. Or one of my colleagues who took it upon herself to help me with two projects. Or another colleague who gave her time to make sure I got the information I needed. Or the resident who wanted to buy me a fried pie because he likes the job I am doing. Or the homeless guy who said thank you when I helped him find a homeless shelter when he arrived in Houston.

Yes, God gives me and you plenty of opportunities to practice an ATTITUDE OF GRATITUDE if we just open our eyes, hearts, ears and minds to the goodness that he provides vs. the not so goodness that man creates. God Bless!

4 Responses to “ATTITUDE OF GRATITUDE”

  1. Norma July 29, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    Loved this!!!I would have gladly gone to that concert if I could have–saw it advertised and was going to go if you hadnt come home–I am so glad you are in Ys life and mine!!

    • lifechangecounseling July 29, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

      Thanks Mom! Very Grateful for you in my life for life!! And thanks for taking care of Billy so well. Love you Tons!

  2. James N. Miller July 29, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Well done, Darron! In the depths of my website are a few things I assert that I have learned in life. One of them is that ‘gratitude is the basis of all true success’. Thanks for this piece. I’m with you all the way, brother! – Jim Miller

Leave a Reply

