Appreciate the importance of PETS

10 Feb

How is everybody doing today? If you live in the NE part of the USA, I don’t envy u at all, digging out of the 3 feet of fresh fallen snow. Reminder: if you have a sweetheart, Valentine’s Day is just 4 days off.

So, I have put off writing this post long enough. Following my mom’s recent, significant loss of her 16 year old Dalmatian, Emma, I wanted to write a few words about the importance of pets.

Yes, I will use the word “pets” since technically that’s what they are. I call my cats my kids but really they are my pets who are treasured like kids. Trust me, I know this as a fact. I have helped raise six “step” kids and have worked professionally with hundreds of kids over the years.

Anyhoo, pets are awesome. I have a 13 year old cat named Clyde who is now in his early 70’s in human time. I almost turned down Clyde when he was first placed in my hand since I already had two other cats and I didn’t want to overdo it. But once Clyde (four white paws) was in my hand, he was mine, all mine.

Clyde has moved with me (several times to several states) and he rarely complains. He goes where I go. We like each others’ company except when he wants to be left alone which happens more and more but I will take what I can get.

Just knowing that Clyde is at home when I am work makes me smile. I am very fortunate to have such a special spirit along side me for my journey.

Leave a Reply

